Be Still Our Kingdom Hearts: Sora Comes to Super Smash Bros. Ultimate

Fans of Kingdom Hearts rejoice! Nintendo hath announced that the Disney-tastic game’s protagonist, Sora, is the final Super Smash Bros. Ultimate DLC Fighter.

This all comes just ahead of Kingdom Hearts’ 20th Anniversary. The franchise will be celebrating 20 years in 2022. We gotta say Sora looks great, hasn’t aged a day. We hope he drops that skincare routine at some point.

He brings along with him his Keyblade, the Hollow Bastion stage, and a lot of jump moves. What will not be following him will be other members of Walt’s (and Luxo’s?) cast of characters. While this might be disappointing, we can’t imagine the intellectual property nightmare that negotiation would be. 

What will be following Sora to Super Smash Bros. Ultimate are 9 tracks from the original game including:

  • Night of Fate
  • Destiny’s Force
  • Shrouding Dark Cloud
  • Hand in Hand
  • Blast Away! – Gummi Ship II-
  • Hollow Bastion
  • Scherzo Di Notte
  • Fragments of Sorrow
  • Destati

And if you have save data from Kingdom Hearts Melody of Memory you’ll receive the song “Dearly Beloved – Swing Version” in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate. 

According to Nintendo, Sora “can perform all types of different combos with his Keyblade, be it straight-on attacks, aerial moves or side smashes. He can also use Magic, just like in KINGDOM HEARTS.”

But Wait There’s More!

A fan of the House of Mouse? There’s even better news for you. All three Kingdom Hearts games are coming to Nintendo Switch as cloud versions. The release date has yet to be announced.

  • KINGDOM HEARTS – HD 1.5 + 2.5 ReMix –
  • KINGDOM HEARTS HD 2.8 Final Chapter Prologue 

Will all be making their way to the console. 

Sora will be releasing in Challenger Pack 11 on October 18th, 2021.

Are you excited for Sora to join the ranks of Super Smash Bros. Ultimate? Who would you like to see in the next Challenger Pack?

Kingdom HeartsKingdom Hearts 3NintendoNintendo SwitchVideo Games