NERDBOT
The Nerd Side Of Life

Ghibli Fest Returns in 2021, New Show Dates Announced

Last year we missed out on a lot of things that we could have done. One thing in particular for my family and I was missing our annual watch of “My Neighbor Totoro” on the big screen. Now this year we will be able to resume that tradition as Fathom Events has just announced new dates for this years Ghibli Fest. Ghibli fest is a time when local theaters host films like “My Neighbor Totoro,” or “Spirited Away” for a limited time.

Additionally two of the films featured in this years festival will be celebrating anniversaries. “Spirited Away” will be celebrating it’s 20th, and “Castle in the Sky” will be celebrating its 35th.

As someone who’s seen “My Neighbor Totoro” on the big screen several times I can attest that these never start to feel old. Studio Ghibli does such an amazing job with world creation that you can’t help but keep glued to the screen. And watching the classic animation unfold so seamlessly is a rare treat.

The Studio Ghibli Fest 2021 Schedule:

Studio Ghibli

Spirited Away 20th Anniversary

  • Sunday, October 3, 2021, 3:00 PM (English Dubbed)
  • Monday, October 4, 2021, 7:00 PM (Japanese with Subtitles)
  • Wednesday, October 6, 2021, 7:00 PM (English Dubbed)
Studio Ghibli

Howl’s Moving Castle

Keep Going!
1 of 1,085
  • Sunday, October 24, 2021, 3:00 PM (English Dubbed)
  • Monday, October 25, 2021, 7:00 PM (Japanese with Subtitles)
  • Thursday, October 28, 2021, 7:00 PM (English Dubbed)
Studio Ghibli

Castle in the Sky 35th Anniversary

  • Sunday, November 14, 2021, 3:00 PM (English Dubbed)
  • Monday, November 15, 2021, 7:00 PM (Japanese with Subtitles)
  • Thursday, November 18, 2021, 7:00 PM (English Dubbed)
Studio Ghibli

My Neighbor Totoro

  • Sunday, December 5, 2021, 3:00 PM (English Dubbed)
  • Monday, December 6, 2021, 7:00 PM (Japanese with Subtitles)
  • Thursday, December 9, 2021, 7:00 PM (English Dubbed)

All event listings are in local time. Tickets for Studio Ghibli Fest 2021 can be purchased beginning Friday, July 16th by visiting GhibliFest.com or FathomEvents.com.

Sign up to Receive the NERDBOT News!